Data Center Tier 5 Explained

Tier 5 not only encompasses the resiliency and redundancy in other data center rating systems, but also evaluates more than 30 additional key elements.

Data Center Tier 5 Explained
Published By - Kelsey Taylor

A business commonly depends upon the applications, administrations and information contained inside the data center, making it a point of focus and primary resource for ordinary activities. A data center is a facility built out of arranged computers and capacity that organizations or different associations use to organize, process, store and disseminate a lot of information.

The concept uptime classification levels were originally given by Ken Brill, founder of the Uptime Institute. He created the Tier system (Tier I, II, III, or IV). The highest level of availability is Tier IV, which is typically defined as “Fault Tolerant and Concurrently Maintainable.”

What is Tier 5 data center?

Tier 5, an up gradation to Tier 4, is a new standard in data center requirements. Tier 5 data centers must fulfil the guidelines from Tier 4, in addition to a few extra ones. For instance, Tier 4 always run without water, have outside air pollutant recognition, permanently installed stored energy system monitors, securable server racks, and much more. Besides these, Tier 5 data centers are required to keep running on nearby renewable power project.

Additionally, it evaluates 30 more key elements, few of which increase the period of power system capabilities, availability of network carriers, cooling system available within the data center, network security and 100% utilization of sustainable power source

Switch Announced Its New Tier 5 Data Center Standard

Switch is an ecosystem corporation which is all into core design, construction and operation of the data centers. Their technology is one of the best when it comes to providing data storage centers. Switch introduced a new proprietary Tier 5 Data Center Standard which is expected to be the most comprehensive standard in the industry.

The new Tier 5 standard was created with an end goal to lessen the absence of transparency and upgrade the quality of data center rating principles. Switch’s plan is to utilize the Tier 5 standard as the initial step to create the new and open, Data Center Standards Foundation (DCSF). That will work in contrast to revenue driven Uptime Institute, which offers its certification administrations to similar clients pursued by Uptime Institute’s parent, ‘The 451 Group’.

In an aggressive move, Tier 5 is more complete and thorough than Uptime’s four-level rating framework. Once you understand more about data center tier’s standards and requirements, then you will be able to decide whether you want to design and install your data center or choose a data center or colocation provider that will work best for your company’s needs and budget.

You May Also Like to Read:
Data Center Tier 4 Explained

Kelsey manages Marketing and Operations at HiTechNectar since 2010. She holds a Master’s degree in Business Administration and Management. A tech fanatic and an author at HiTechNectar, Kelsey covers a wide array of topics including the latest IT trends, events and more. Cloud computing, marketing, data analytics and IoT are some of the subjects that she likes to write about.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

four + 18 =

We send you the latest trends and best practice tips for online customer engagement:

Receive Updates:   Daily    Weekly

By completing and submitting this form, you understand and agree to HiTechNectar processing your acquired contact information as described in our privacy policy.

We hate spams too, you can unsubscribe at any time.

ads sidebar

Translate »
Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial